Tuesday, October 15, 2013


Official Name: Islamic City of Marawi (capital city)
Province: Lanao del Sur
Region: Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao
Coordinates: 08°00′N 124°18′E
Total Land Area: 87.55 km2(33.80 sq mi.)
Elevation: 700 meters (2,300 feet)
Incorporated town of Dansalan: May 24, 1097
Charter City of Dansalan: 1940
From Dansalan to Marawi City: June 16, 1956
Barangays: 96
Districts: 1st District
Time Zone: PST
Zip Code: 9700
Dialing Code: 63

Marawi City was formerly known as Dansalan when it served as the capital of the undivided Lanao province from 1907 to 1940 .

View Larger Map

MSU grounds' commanding rolling terrain giving a majestic view of the Lake Lanao

Marawi City is predominantly Muslim city which accounts for 95% of the population. The distribution of alcoholic products and gambling is forbidden, non-Muslims though are exempted to this rule. On the other hand, Dansalan in Maranao is a place where ships berth which means a port of entry. Marawi is located on the shores of Lake Lanao and straddles the area where the Agus River starts. Its high elevation along Lake Lanao at approximately 2,300 feet or 700 meters gives it a cool and pleasant climate. With a scenery of mountains, rolling hills, valleys and a large placid lake that dominate the city’s landscape, it makes the best place to live.

The pride of Marawi City and Mindanao - Marawi State University

According to the late well-known Maranao scholar Dr. Mamitua Saber, Marawi City got its charter in 1940. The granting of a charter to the old Dansalan municipality was jointly conceived by the Philippine Commonwealth President Manuel L. Quezon and Assemblyman, later Senator, Tomas L. Cabili. The changing of the official name from Dansalan to Marawi was through Congressional amendment of the Charter in 1956 sponsored by Sen. Domocao Alonto. This is embodied by Republic Act No. 1552 dated June 16, 1956. The renaming of the city as "Islamic City of Marawi" was proposed by Parliamentary Bill No. 261 in the defunct Batasang Pambansa, the former parliament of the Philippines during the Marcos regime, reportedly to attract funds from the Middle East.

The imposing main entrance of Mindanao State University

Honestly, it took me several years before I can set foot to this place though since 2001 I have been already frequenting to visit Mindanao. It was just for now that this realization to visit this place became a reality. Though twice I visited Iligan City, nobody would accompany me to tour around this beautiful city.

The long and winding road leading to the university campus

Since we did not have a private car, we opted to have a leisurely walk to get inside the university campus. The air was cool and it was refreshing long walk along the shady winding road.

i.link.ph website has this to say about Mindanao State University (MSU) Marawi: "MSU Marawi was created under RA 1387 as amended through authorship of Senator Domocao A. Alonto, the Mindanao State University was established in Marawi City on September 1, 1961. Dr. Antonio Isidro, former Vice President for Academic Affairs of the University of the Philippines, was its founder and first president."

"Formal classes opened in June 1962 with 282 students, 19 faculty members and staff, and three core colleges: Community Development, Liberal Arts and Education."

"After more than three decades of operation, the University has grown into a multi-campus University System with seventeen colleges and degree-granting units in the Marawi campus alone."

The university logo in concrete tablet form

The Aga Khan Museum in MSU Campus

MSU's Stadium and oval tracks

This gentle greenery is a part of a 9-hole golf course laid out in MSU Campus

King Faisal Center for Islamic, Arabic and Asian Studies

The Islamic Center in Brgy. Pangarungan in downtown of Marawi City

No comments:

Post a Comment